Lionel Messi set to win Ballon D’Or best footballer award

Lionel Messi is set to win the prestigious Ballon D’Or award for best footballer of the year awarded by FIFA. Taking place in Zurich, it is awarded to the best footballer of previous calendar year. Contending for the precious prize are rivals Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar. In a star studded event attended by who’s who of the football world, this gala event also witnessed a much publicised and talked about press conference where the ruling trio of modern day football – Messi, Ronaldo and Neymar – showered praises over one another.

Messi also revealed that he is ready to swipe 5 Ballon D’Or awards for one World Cup, which his team Argentina lost to Germany in 2014. Terming it as ‘the peak’, Leo explained that it still hurts him. On a lighter note, Ronaldo wished for taking left foot, even both legs! Even Ronaldo conceded that Leo is the favourite, but still all 3 are here because each one is strong in their respective merits. The jealousy between the two turned into a camaraderie for people and fans alike to see and relish. Neymar has admitted with no hesitation that Messi is his favourite and enjoys working with him. He considers Leo as his idol and follows him both on and off the field.

If Messi wins it this time, then it would be his 5th time in the last 7 times that award has been presented, with Ronaldo grabbing it in 2014 and 2013. The prize is voted by international coaches, captains and media. Its so ironical that Real Madrid has produced most players who have taken Ballon D’Or than any other club. Its also interesting to note that out of 59 times, only 11 times have the Ballon D’Or gone to left footed players, four of which are Leo himself, winning in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Along with Ballon D’Or, other awards up for grabs include

Award name Nominees
World Player of the Year Aya Miyama, Carli Lloyd, Celia Sasic
Puskas award Marcel Ndjeng, Lionel Messi, Chory Castro, Carlos Teves, Esteban Senini
Ballon D’Or Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar
FIFA World Coach for Men and Women
Fair Play award